While Pizza Hut is proud to offer pizzas made with gluten-free dough from Udi, the kitchens at Pizza Hut are not gluten-free environments. Not only can you feast on gluten-free dough at Pizza Hut, but you also have plenty of gluten-free ingredients to choose from. Some ingredients are healthy vegetables, while others are for meat lovers. Fortunately, the main components, such as sauce and cheese, are edible for those who avoid gluten.
Yes, people with celiac disease can eat at Pizza Hut. Pizza Hut offers several gluten-free options, so that people with coeliac disease can enjoy a pizza without worrying about the gluten content. To ensure that its gluten-free pizzas are safe for people with celiac disease, Pizza Hut applies a specific gluten-free preparation process, using designated gluten-free ingredients, specific utensils and products from gluten-free suppliers. Pizza Hut's gluten-free pizza base is prepared in an establishment specializing in gluten-free products and is certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group.
SINCE THEIR PIZZAS ARE NO LONGER CERTIFIED AS GLUTEN-FREE, I CAN NO LONGER RECOMMEND PEOPLE WITH CELIAC DISEASE OR GLUTEN INTOLERANCE TO EAT AT PIZZA HUT. Many larger pizza chains, such as Pizza Hut and Domino's, offer gluten-free doughs that are prepared in specialized gluten-free areas to avoid cross-contamination with regular wheat-based doughs. Be sure to read my article, Pizza Restaurants That Don't Recommend Their Gluten-Free Pizza for People with Celiac Disease to learn more about how Domino's, Little Caesers, Papa John's and Papa Murphy's handle gluten. The gluten-free community applauded this measure, as Pizza Hut's rival, Domino's, had launched a gluten-free pizza option several years earlier; however, Domino's states on its website that its gluten-free pizza is not suitable for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Pizza Hut employees are trained to wear gloves when handling pizzas and to cut them with designated gluten-free pizza cutters. During its years of “gluten-free certification,” Pizza Hut employees were instructed to wear clean gloves, use pre-assembled ingredient kits, bake the pizzas on parchment paper, cut the certified gluten-free pizzas with a designated gluten-free pizza cutter and serve them in a Udi's brand of pizza box. Each gluten-free pizza is baked fresh to order with individually packaged gluten-free pizza kit materials. While Udi's gluten-free dough is made in a separate facility and shipped directly to Pizza Hut locations, it's not prepared in a way that minimizes the risk of the pizza coming into contact with gluten along the way.
The classic marinara pizza sauce is a great option for those looking for a traditional pizza sauce. Today, Pizza Hut offers a gluten-free pizza option, but warns that its gluten-free pizzas are not safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. However, keep in mind that gluten-free pizza isn't necessarily healthier than traditional pizza, as it can still be high in fat, sodium, and calories due to fillings and cheese. To ensure that Pizza Hut's gluten-free pizzas continue to meet GIG standards, the organization's auditors will conduct surprise inspections at Pizza Hut locations.
Pizza Hut intends to launch gluten-free pizzas at its remaining establishments for an extended period of time.